Arriving in Vancouver

When we got to Canada, straight away the holiday got better. The airport looked so nice and clean in Vancouver. We spoke to the boarder control- they were friendly and seemed like they enjoyed their jobs.

The lady who issued our visa made it easy and made us feel very welcome.

When we got in the cab I still felt a bit on edge from being in New York and questioned the driver why the meter wasn’t on and he explained to me it was a set fare that was even cheaper than what I had thought. The Air BnB owner stayed up until 2am in the morning to meet us and could not have been more helpful. Our apartment was clean, big and homely. I was so excited to be here and loved the vibe already!

Our first day in Vancouver Jesse was still sick from being over in the USA, so he just wanted to stay inside all day. So I went to Safeway shopping as a solo activity, I find the supermarkets over here exciting haha I could spend hours just walking around looking at everything. I got some Starbucks and cooked us up some breakfast. I went for a run down near the water in West End Vancouver, it reminded me so much of Queenstown, New Zealand with the ducks and the boats.

The next few days Jesse was feeling better 🙂

We spent a lot of our time going to the local YMCA gym, it was good because we felt like we were getting some routine back after being on holiday for a few weeks.

We went to the Granville Island Markets for lunch and Doughnuts.

Spent hours in sports bars watching footy and darts.

Went to the Capilano Suspension Bridge Park.

And checked out the steam clock in Gas town.

Going from being on holiday to realising my whole life is now a holiday has been a bit hard for me this week. The whole time we were in Vancouver it rained and we were walking everywhere. We didn’t have a lot planned for when we were there, so I did get to do everything I wanted, including a Victoria Secret shopping spree!

But every time we were just at home watching Netflix I felt like I was wasting time…….

One of my goals for this trip: learn how to chill out a bit.

P.s

I’m just writing these blogs for fun but it has made me realise how much effort professional bloggers must spend on their blogs! I feel like this one is a bit rushed but I have just been so distracted with everything going on!!! There is a lot that I want to share in the moment when I’m doing things but in the end no one is ever going to know how it really felt like to be in each moment if they weren’t there. When traveling you see people posing for photos at each “landmark” to get the perfect photo for social media. It’s so cool to see everyone’s photos, I love looking at them…….

…. but to make sure that everything thing you do , do it because you enjoy it, take the photo and then put your phone away for the next few hours!

I like posting the photos and doing the blogs because I like the messages I get from everyone (especially the emails through the blog, it’s so cool) I miss you all!!!

Leave a comment